• English
  • Deutsch

Zurich

The Therapeutic Wisdom of Yoga – A 4-Day Training with Doug Keller

This intensive training will reinforce fundamental themes for working with yoga therapeutically to overcome pain problems - for oneself and for students - and will add the themes of ‘functional’ myofascial lines for movement, and the role of Marma Therapy in deepening the therapeutic value of yoga.

The ‘Functional’ Myofascial Lines introduced by Tom Myers coordinate the actions of the arms and legs through the ‘Core’ of the body, and are very helpful and illuminating for understanding the value of traditional asanas - and for refining our actions to deepen our experience of the asanas. These myofascial ‘Sutras’ also complete a picture for movement in practice that forms a solid basis for understanding the role of Marma in the practices of yoga aimed at therapeutic benefits.

Marma is defined as a ‘vital’ point of energy in the body, where prana flows and is distributed through the body. And sometimes the energy gets ‘stuck’ in these areas, from tightness, distortion or constriction in fascial tissues, or blocks in awareness, including emotional blocks, previous injury, breath patterns or a number of other causes. This can be the cause of pain, or a lack of energy, or even numbness.
The blocks are often released through massage of these points, and can also be opened up by the dynamics of yoga asanas joined with the breath. The fascial lines provide a basis for a firmer understanding of marma as well as an approach to the practical application of marma through asana, as well as for identifying ‘hot spots’ in the body that signal causes of pain from fascial distortion. In addition, we’ll look at cues from the ‘Fascial Distortion Model’ of pain therapy for guidance as to appropriate forms of marma care.
Overall, awareness of the marma points can be helpful for understanding pain that arises in the body, as well as a lack of vitality, irritation, or a whole number of disturbances. Moreover, marma has also - at least since the 10th or 12th century - provided points of focus for deep relaxation or Yoga Nidra, the ‘sleep of the yogi’ which is regarded as a deep state of samadhi. The relationship of Marma to the ‘Sadanga’ tradition of tantric yoga that was the early basis of Yoga Nidra practice will be explained with the Yoga Nidra practice at the end of each day.

The training is structured to help teachers understand more deeply the therapeutic rationale behind alignment and action instructions in yoga poses - and to know when these instructions are helpful and appropriate, and when variations or a different emphasis are necessary. The instructions are clear, specific and user-friendly, and backed up by knowledge of the anatomy involved in the movements as well as an understanding of the common therapeutic problems that bring students to yoga seeking help.
The training has a high return rate for teachers seeking to reinforce what they have learned, and looking for new insights to add to what they know. Likewise, the training always proves to be very accessible to teachers and advancing students coming for the first time, seeking deeper insight into yoga, its rationale, and its benefits.

Doug Keller has been teaching workshops and trainings in the therapeutic applications of yoga for more than a decade, and is known not only for his effectiveness in communicating this ever-evolving approach in these trainings, but also for his extensive writing on the topic in magazines, journals and his two-volume work on ‘Yoga As Therapy.’
He is also, in addition to his traveling and teaching, a Distinguished Professor at the Maryland University of Integrative Health in their Master’s Degree program in Yoga Therapy. This program is state-approved and accredited for granting a Master’s degree in this field, and is fully accredited by the International Association of Yoga Therapists.
For more information please also check out Doug’s website www.doyoga.com

Doug Keller will lead this Yoga Therapy Training from Thursday, February 13, through
Sunday, February 16, 2020 at
AIRYOGA, Fabrikstrasse 10 in 8005 Zurich.

Thursday, February 13, 2020 from 9:00 to 11:30 a.m., and from 1:30 to 5:15 p.m.: 
Functional Lines of Movement: Understanding their Role in Asana Practice and their Importance for Working with Low Back and Sciatic Pain - and an Introduction to Marma

The key to understanding healthy movement as well as the root of much chronic pelvic and low back pain lies in understanding the rhythmic movement of the sacrum and the muscles which support it. When these muscles are not functioning properly, chronic low back and pelvic pain are often the result, and are tied to specific movement patterns that can be corrected through asana combined with specific exercises.
Asana practice can be of great benefit for supporting stable movement of the sacroiliac joint - asanas can also cause problems when we don’t properly stabilize the low back using the functional lines and core. Special attention will be given to twisting, and the value of twists for the low back.
Pain problems around the low back, hips and sacrum also have corresponding marma points; basic exercises concentrating on these points as a warm-up for practice or relief from pain will be introduced as a simple program to be integrated into yoga practice.
Principles for self-assessment and corrective exercises will also be introduced on the first day, and continued through each day of the training.

Friday, February 14, 2020 from 9:00 to 11:30 a.m., and from 1:30 to 5:15 p.m.: 
The Lower Body: Sciatic Pain and Special Focus on the Knees

Both Sciatic pain and knee problems are major therapeutic concerns that can be addressed through asana practice and stretches.
Our treatment of sciatic pain will build upon what we learned of the sacrum on the first day, and as we go through the different sources of sciatic pain - and how to assess and address each top - we will naturally be led to address knee problems. 
Knee health usually includes all of the major considerations of the lower body: the feet and health of the arches, including challenges such as bunions, plantar fasciitis, hamstring and quadriceps tightness or imbalances, the role of the IT band and imbalances in the many muscles surrounding the hips, including the gluteals.
We will include assessment principles for the knees and knee problems, awareness of the most common kinds of knee problems and injuries, and principles for safe and helpful practice in yoga poses that will improve the condition of not only the knees, but the feet and hips as well.
This will also include further self-care techniques relating the traditional marma system of Ayurveda with contemporary fascial understanding - which can be incorporated simply into practice, especially for people experiencing joint issues, neuropathy (numbness) and other common problems - for the knees, as well as for the hips and feet.

Saturday, February 15, 2020 from 8:00 to 10:00 a.m., and from 2:00 to 5:30 p.m.: 
The Upper Body: Special Focus on Hand, Wrist and Elbow Problems, and their Relation to Shoulder Health

It is beneficial for the core of the body as well as for the health of the shoulders to practice weight-bearing on the arms. The problem is that hand, wrist and elbow problems can make this painful or difficult. 
We’ll look closely at the structure of the hand and wrist - and at the special role of the thumb, which, when it is not working properly, contributes to Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, arthritic conditions and atrophy, and elbow and even shoulder problems.
We will work with remedial exercises as well as ways to progressively work with the hand as weight-bearing - and insights from Marma points of the hands and arms are especially helpful for maintaining a good self-care routine.
From the work that we do starting with the hands and elbows, we’ll be able to work effectively with the shoulders - both with regard to common shoulder problems, including rotator cuff injury, frozen shoulder recovery and AC joint pain, and in relationship to breath problems and neck pain. Some key marma points are especially helpful in making the connection from shoulder to neck.

Sunday, February 16, 2020 from 8:15 to 10:45 a.m., and from 1:30 to 5:00 p.m.: 
Problems of the Head, Jaw and Neck, and their Relation to the Shoulders

A host of pain problems arise from our use of our neck, as well as from problems of the jaw and breath. These have a great deal of impact upon the health of our upper back and shoulders, and are the root of a great deal of our upper body pain.
Yoga has plenty of principles for the head and neck, including bandha and mudra, that are related to the breath as well as asana, and which can be applied simply and effectively to address upper body pain problems.
Marma adds additional insights for self-care - particularly with regard to myofascial tightness at the root of neck pain and headaches, as well as breathing disorders that often affect sleep.
The principles covered for working with the head and neck in asana and pranayama will naturally be connected with what we learned so far of working with the shoulders. The principles of the neck will help us to complete the picture of working with the shoulders in asana, and help us to more deeply understand the roots of shoulder and neck pain. 

Support Materials
Some very important support materials are provided with the training to ensure that you can take in the information and work with it even when the training itself is over. An extensive illustrated manual is provided for you with the training, which includes the teaching points of the training, illustrated and in detail, with space for you to take notes as we go along. This reduces your stress from worrying about taking extensive notes, so that you can be fully present to experience what is being covered in the training.
The PowerPoint presentations used in the lectures, which follow the information in the manual, will also be available to you to download. You will be able to save them to your computer or tablet as high quality color documents for you to review whenever you wish.
High quality recordings of the lectures and practices will also be provided to you as a download upon request for a small additional fee, which you can use to go back and review your notes, as well as doing the asana and relaxation practices.

Practice
Each day will begin with an asana practice that introduces or incorporates the ideas at the heart of the training, so that you will have an experiential example of how you can weave these ideas into your classes for the general benefit of your students - and introduce refreshingly new ideas for practice. 
And each day will end with a deep yoga nidra practice - along with some explanation of the value and importance of the practice, as well as the fundamental principles (from early ‘laya’ forms of the practice) for guiding students simply and deeply into yoga nidra.

This course is open to all levels of yoga practitioners. It can be booked as an entire 4-day program or for single days.

Doug teaches in English.

The cost is: 
Fr. 590.- for the entire course (4 days)
Fr. 160.- per single day
Extensive support materials are included.

Participation is limited.

Please note the reservation and cancelation policy for workshops at AIRYOGA.

For further information, please contact zuerich@airyoga.com

Sign up now
Operations
4-Day Yoga Therapy Intensive
Thursday, February 13, 2020 - 09:00 to Sunday, February 16, 2020 - 17:00
Price590.00 CHF
Day 1
Thursday, February 13, 2020 - 09:00 to 17:15
Price160.00 CHF
Day 2
Friday, February 14, 2020 - 09:00 to 17:15
Price160.00 CHF
Day 3
Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 08:00 to 17:30
Price160.00 CHF
Day 4
Sunday, February 16, 2020 - 08:15 to 17:00
Price160.00 CHF

• English
  • Deutsch

Zürich

Die therapeutische Weisheit des Yoga – Ein 4-Tage Training mit Doug Keller

Dieses Intensiv-Training vertieft die grundlegenden Themen für die therapeutische Arbeit mit Yoga zur Überwindung von Schmerzproblemen - für sich selbst und für die Schüler. Neu werden das Thema der ‚funktionellen’ myofaszialen Linien und die Bedeutung der Marma-Punkte für die therapeutische Arbeit mit Yoga eingeführt und beleuchtet.

Die von Tom Myers eingeführten ‚funktionellen’ myofaszialen Linien koordinieren die Aktionen der Arme und Beine durch den ‚Kern/Core’ des Körpers. Sie sind sehr hilf- und aufschlussreich, um den Wert traditioneller Asanas zu verstehen sowie um unsere Aktionen zu verfeinern und dadurch unsere Erfahrung in den Asanas zu vertiefen. Diese myofaszialen ‚Sutras’ vervollständigen ausserdem ein Bild von Bewegung in der Praxis, das eine solide Grundlage für das Verständnis der Rolle von Marma im therapeutischen Yoga bildet.

Marma wird definiert als ein ‚lebenswichtiger’ Energiepunkt im Körper, in dem Prana fliesst und im Körper verteilt wird. Manchmal bleibt die Energie in diesen Bereichen jedoch stecken, sei es durch Enge, Verformung oder Einschränkung im Fasziengewebe oder Blockaden im Bewusstsein, einschliesslich emotionale Blockaden, frühere Verletzungen, Atemmuster oder eine Reihe anderer Ursachen. Dies kann die Ursache von Schmerzen, Energiemangel oder sogar Taubheitsgefühl sein. 
Solche Blockaden werden oft durch die Massage dieser Punkte gelöst, sie können aber auch durch die Dynamik einer mit dem Atem verbundenen Asana-Praxis geöffnet werden. Zudem werden wir uns mit dem ‚Fascial Distortion Model’ aus der Schmerztherapie und dafür geeigneten Formen der Marma-Pflege befassen.
Kenntnisse über die Marma-Punkte können helfen, um die Ursache für Schmerzen im Körper, für Energiemangel und viele weitere Beschwerden zu verstehen. Darüberhinaus liefert Marma - zumindest seit dem 10. oder 12. Jahrhundert - auch Fokuspunkte für die Tiefenentspannung oder Yoga Nidra, den ‚Schlaf des Yogis’, der als tiefer Zustand des Samadhi gilt. Die Beziehung von Marma zur ‚Sadanga’-Tradition des tantrischen Yoga, welche die frühe Grundlage der Yoga Nidra-Praxis bildete, wird mit einer Yoga Nidra-Praxis am Ende jedes Trainingstages aufgegriffen.

Das Training ist so aufgebaut, dass es Yogalehrenden hilft, das therapeutische Grundprinzip hinter den Ausrichtungs- und Handlungsanweisungen in Yogaposen besser zu verstehen, und zu wissen, wann diese Anweisungen hilfreich und angemessen und wann Variationen oder andere Schwerpunkte notwendig sind. Die Anweisungen sind klar, spezifisch und benutzerfreundlich. Sie werden unterstützt durch das Wissen über die an den Bewegungen beteiligte Anatomie sowie durch das Verständnis für die allgemeinen therapeutischen Probleme, die Menschen dazu bringen, im Yoga Hilfe zu suchen.
Das Training zieht immer wieder Yogalehrende an, die bereits Gelerntes vertiefen möchten und nach neuen Erkenntnissen suchen, um ihr Wissen zu ergänzen. Ebenso erweist sich das Training als sehr zugänglich für Yogalehrende und Fortgeschrittene, die zum ersten Mal kommen und einen tieferen Einblick ins Yoga, in sein Grundprinzip und seinen Nutzen suchen.

Seit über einem Jahrzehnt unterrichtet Doug Keller Workshops und Trainings zur therapeutischen Anwendung von Yoga. Er ist nicht nur bekannt dafür, Yogatherapie wirksam zu vermitteln, sondern auch für seine umfangreichen Publikationen zum Thema, u.a. sein zweibändiges Werk ‘Yoga As Therapy.’ 
Nebst seiner mit vielen Reisen verbundenen Lehrtätigkeit ist Doug ein angesehener Professor für Yogatherapie an der Universität von Maryland/USA. Sein dortiger Lehrgang führt zu einem staatlich geprüften und von der Internationalen Yogatherapeuten-Vereinigung anerkannten Master-Abschluss in Yogatherapie.
Für weitere Informationen siehe auch Dougs Webseite www.doyoga.com

Doug Keller unterrichtet dieses Yogatherapie Intensiv-Training von Donnerstag, 13. Februar bis
Sonntag, 16. Februar 2020 bei AIRYOGA, Fabrikstrasse 10 in 8005 Zürich.


Donnerstag, 13. Februar 2020 von 9:00 bis 11:30 und von 13:30 bis 17:15 Uhr:
Funktionelle Bewegungslinien: ihre Rolle in der Asana-Praxis und ihre Bedeutung bei Ischias und Schmerzen im unteren Rücken verstehen - sowie eine Einführung in Marma

Wir können gesunde Bewegung und die Ursache vieler chronischer Becken- und Kreuzschmerzen nur verstehen, wenn wir die rhythmische Bewegung des Kreuzbeins und der Muskeln, die es unterstützen, verstehen. Wenn diese Muskeln nicht richtig funktionieren, sind chronische Rücken- und Beckenschmerzen oft die Folge. Diese sind an spezifische Bewegungsmuster gebunden, die durch Asana in Kombination mit spezifischen Übungen korrigiert werden können.
Die Asana-Praxis kann von grossem Nutzen für die Unterstützung einer stabilen Bewegung des Iliosakralgelenks sein - Asanas können aber auch Probleme verursachen, wenn wir den unteren Rücken nicht richtig stabilisieren, indem wir die funktionalen Linien und die Körpermitte einsetzen. Wir legen in dieser Session ein besonderes Augenmerk auf Drehungen und den Wert von Drehhaltungen für den unteren Rücken.
Beschwerden in den Bereichen des unteren Rückens, der Hüften und des Kreuzbeins haben ihnen entsprechende Marma-Punkte. Wir lernen ein einfaches Programm an Grundübungen, die diese Punkte aufwärmen oder schmerzlindernd wirken und in die Yogapraxis integriert werden können.
Grundsätze für die Selbsteinschätzung und korrigierende Übungen werden bereits am ersten Trainingstag eingeführt und in den folgenden Sessions weiterentwickelt.

Freitag, 14. Februar 2020 von 9:00 bis 11:30 und von 13:30 bis 17:15 Uhr: 
Der Unterkörper: Ischias-Schmerzen und spezieller Fokus auf die Knie

Sowohl Ischiasschmerzen als auch Knieprobleme sind grosse therapeutische Herausforderungen, die durch Asana-Praxis und Dehnungen angegangen werden können.
Unsere Betrachtung von Ischiasschmerzen baut auf dem auf, was wir am ersten Trainingstag über das Kreuzbein gelernt haben, und während wir die verschiedenen Quellen von Ischiasschmerzen durchgehen - und wie wir jede von ihnen beurteilen und behandeln können - landen wir natürlicherweise bei den Knieproblemen. 
Die Gesundheit der Knie umfasst in der Regel alle wichtigen Aspekte des Unterkörpers: die Füsse und die Gesundheit der Fussgewölbe, einschliesslich Herausforderungen wie Hallux, Verspannungen oder Ungleichgewicht in der Muskulatur der Hamstrings und Quadrizeps, das IT-Band und Imbalancen in den vielen Muskeln um die Hüften herum, einschliesslich der Gesässmuskulatur.
Wir betrachten Beurteilungsprinzipien für die Knie und Knieprobleme, besprechen die häufigsten Arten von Knieproblemen und -verletzungen sowie Prinzipien für eine sichere und hilfreiche Praxis in Yogaposen, die nicht nur den Zustand der Knie, sondern auch der Füsse und Hüften verbessern.
Dieser Trainingstag beinhaltet auch weitere Selbsthilfetechniken, die das traditionelle Marma-System des Ayurveda mit dem zeitgenössischen Faszienverständnis in Verbindung bringen und sich einfach in die Praxis umsetzen lassen, insbesondere für Menschen mit Gelenkproblemen, Neuropathie (Taubheitsgefühl) und anderen häufigen Beschwerden - für die Knie wie für die Hüften und Füsse.

Samstag, 15. Februar 2020 von 8:00 bis 10:00 und von 14:00 bis 17:30 Uhr: 
Der Oberkörper: spezieller Fokus auf Hand-, Handgelenk- und Ellenbogen-Probleme und ihr Einfluss auf die Gesundheit der Schultern

Es ist sowohl für die Körpermitte als auch für die Gesundheit der Schultern von Vorteil, wenn wir das Gewicht auf den Armen abstützen. Das Problem ist, dass dies bei Hand-, Handgelenk- und Ellenbogenproblemen schmerzhaft oder schwierig ist. 
Wir betrachten die Struktur von Hand und Handgelenk im Detail sowie die besondere Rolle des Daumens, der, wenn er nicht korrekt eingesetzt wird, zum Karpaltunnelsyndrom, zu arthritischen Erkrankungen und Atrophie sowie zu Ellenbogen- und sogar Schulterproblemen beitragen kann.
Wir wenden heilende Übungen an und finden Möglichkeiten, um schrittweise mit der Hand als Gewichtsträger zu arbeiten. Kenntnisse der Marma-Punkte in den Händen und Armen sind dabei besonders hilfreich.
Auf der Arbeit mit den Händen und Ellenbogen aufbauend, können wir häufige Schulterprobleme wie auch den Zusammenhang zu Atembeschwerden und Nackenschmerzen angehen. Einige wichtige Marma-Punkte sind besonders hilfreich, um die Verbindung von Schulter zu Hals herzustellen.

Sonntag, 16. Februar 2020 von 8:15 bis 10:45 und von 13:30 bis 17:00 Uhr:
Probleme von Kopf, Kiefer und Nacken und ihre Verbindung zu den Schultern

Viele Schmerzprobleme im Oberkörper haben ihre Ursache im Einsatz des Halses sowie in Kiefer- und Atemproblemen. Diese haben einen grossen Einfluss auf die Gesundheit unseres oberen Rückens und unserer Schultern.
Yoga hat viele Prinzipien für Kopf und Hals, einschliesslich Bandha und Mudra. Diese hängen mit der Atmung sowie mit Asana zusammen und können einfach und effektiv angewendet werden, um Schmerzen im Oberkörper zu behandeln.
Marma bringt zusätzliche Erkenntnisse für die Selbsthilfe - insbesondere in Bezug auf myofasziale Enge als Ursache für Nacken- und Kopfschmerzen sowie für Atemprobleme, die oft den Schlaf beeinträchtigen.
Die Prinzipien, die für die Arbeit mit Kopf und Hals in Asana und Pranayama gelten, werden in dieser Session natürlicherweise integriert in das, was wir bisher aus der Arbeit mit den Schultern gelernt haben. Die Prinzipien des Halses helfen uns, unser Bild von der Arbeit mit den Schultern in Asana zu vervollständigen und die Ursachen von Schulter- und Nackenschmerzen besser zu verstehen. 

Unterrichtsunterlagen
Du erhältst ausführliche Hilfsmaterialien, mit denen du auch nach dem Training arbeiten kannst: Ein umfangreiches Handbuch, das die Lehrinhalte des Trainings illustriert und detailliert enthält, mit Platz für eigene Notizen. Dadurch kannst du dich ganz auf den Unterricht konzentrieren und musst dir nicht mehr viele Notizen machen.
Ausserdem werden die in den Vorträgen verwendeten PowerPoint-Präsentationen, die den Informationen im Handbuch folgen, ebenfalls zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt, so dass du sie als hochwertige Farbdokumente auf dem Computer oder Tablet speichern und jederzeit einsehen kannst.
Hochwertige Tonaufnahmen der Vorträge und Übungen, dank denen du deine eigenen Notizen vervollständigen sowie die Asanas und Entspannungsübungen praktizieren kannst, sind auf Wunsch und gegen eine geringe Gebühr ebenfalls als Download verfügbar. 

Praxis
Jeder Kurstag startet mit einer Asana-Praxis, die die Kernthemen des Trainings aufgreift. So erfährst du in deinem Körper, wie du diese Themen zum allgemeinen Nutzen für deine Schülerinnen und Schüler in deine Klassen einbringen und neue und frische Ideen für die Praxis einführen kannst. 
Ausserdem endet jeder Kurstag mit einer tiefen Yoga Nidra-Praxis - zusammen mit einer Erklärung über den Wert und die Bedeutung dieser Praxis sowie ihre Grundprinzipien (von den frühen ‚laya’-Formen der Praxis) für den Unterricht von Yoga Nidra.

Dieses Training richtet sich an Yogapraktizierende aller Levels. Es kann als Ganzes oder auch nur für einzelne Tage gebucht werden.

Doug unterrichtet auf Englisch.

Die Kosten betragen: 
Fr. 590.- für das ganze Training (4 Tage)
Fr. 160.- pro Tag.
Umfangreiche Unterlagen (auf Englisch) sind inbegriffen.

Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt.

Wir bitten, die Reservations- und Stornierungsbestimmungen für Workshop-Anmeldungen zu beachten.



Bei Fragen bitte E-mail an zuerich@airyoga.com

Jetzt anmelden
Operationen
4-Tage Yoga-Therapie Intensive
Donnerstag, 13. Februar 2020 - 9:00 - Sonntag, 16. Februar 2020 - 17:00
Preis590.00 CHF
1. Tag
Donnerstag, 13. Februar 2020 - 9:00 - 17:15
Preis160.00 CHF
2. Tag
Freitag, 14. Februar 2020 - 9:00 - 17:15
Preis160.00 CHF
3. Tag
Samstag, 15. Februar 2020 - 8:00 - 17:30
Preis160.00 CHF
4. Tag
Sonntag, 16. Februar 2020 - 8:15 - 17:00
Preis160.00 CHF